Betty Trask Award and Prize

14 May 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been presented with a Betty Trask Award, and has been shortlisted for the Betty Trask Prize.

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are presented for a first novel by a writer under 35. Judged by Ben Brooks, Elanor Dymott and Vaseem Khan. 

There is no shortlist for the Betty Trask Award: a number of winners are chosen for the award (four, this year), to one of whom the Betty Trask Prize is given.

The winners will be announced online on Thursday 18 June.

Desmond Elliot Prize Longlist

7 April 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize for debut fiction. 

On Tuesday 7 April the National Centre for Writing announced the 10-strong longlist for the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize, for the most outstanding first novels of the past 12 months. The Desmond Elliott Prize is known as the most prestigious prize for debut novelist in the UK and Ireland and this year's longlist exemplifies the extraordinary strength and breadth of UK and Irish debut fiction.

The Desmond Elliott Prize 2020 shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 2 June.

Desmond Elliott Prize Shortlist

2 June 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been shortlisted for the 2020 Desmond Elliott Prize. The £10,000 prize, known as the most prestigious award for debut novelists in the UK and Ireland, is run by the National Centre for Writing.


©2019 by Okechukwu Nzelu. Proudly created with