top of page


Portico Prize Longlisting

September 2021

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been longlisted for the Portico Prize, a £10,000 biennial award for the book that best evokes the spirit of the North of England, open to new works of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry.

Portico Prize 2022 Longlist.png

ALCS Board

June 2021

I'm delighted to announce that I have been appointed as Non-executive director at the Authors' Licensing and Copyright Society. The ALCS is a vital part of the writing world and I look forward to contributing to their work. You can find out more about their work at the link below.

ALCS Announcement Photo.jpeg

Pride at Canary Wharf, London

June 2021

To celebrate Pride month, Canary Wharf commissioned me and two other authors to write a fictional short story that celebrates the LGBTQIA+ community while also delving into and addressing the challenges faced by those parts of this community.

'Arrival' will be available to read at Canary Wharf, from 1 June to 2 July.

Learn More
Screenshot 2021-05-30 at 14.31.49.png

Kingston University Big Read

24 May 2021

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been chosen for Kingston University's Big Read project. A special edition of the novel will be posted to all new students before they even arrive at University, while staff and current students can pick up their own free copies on campus.

For more information, click below to read the university's announcement.


Betty Trask Award and Prize

14 May 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been presented with a Betty Trask Award, and has been shortlisted for the Betty Trask Prize.

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are presented for a first novel by a writer under 35. Judged by Ben Brooks, Elanor Dymott and Vaseem Khan. 

There is no shortlist for the Betty Trask Award: a number of winners are chosen for the award (four, this year), to one of whom the Betty Trask Prize is given.

The winners will be announced online on Thursday 18 June.


Desmond Elliot Prize Longlist

7 April 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize for debut fiction. 

On Tuesday 7 April the National Centre for Writing announced the 10-strong longlist for the £10,000 Desmond Elliott Prize, for the most outstanding first novels of the past 12 months. The Desmond Elliott Prize is known as the most prestigious prize for debut novelist in the UK and Ireland and this year's longlist exemplifies the extraordinary strength and breadth of UK and Irish debut fiction.

The Desmond Elliott Prize 2020 shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 2 June.


Desmond Elliott Prize Shortlist

2 June 2020

The Private Joys of Nnenna Maloney has been shortlisted for the 2020 Desmond Elliott Prize. The £10,000 prize, known as the most prestigious award for debut novelists in the UK and Ireland, is run by the National Centre for Writing.

News: Press
bottom of page